Russellville Area News


Date ArticleType
2017 Arkansas Scholars Recognized

Russellville, AR (April 11, 2017) – On Monday, April 10th, The Russellville Area Chamber of Commerce, Russellville High School, and their partners honored 63 RHS Seniors who are distinguished as Arkansas Scholars.

The Russellville Area Chamber of Commerce started the Arkansas Scholars program in the 1998-99 school year. It is a program of the Arkansas Business and Education Alliance that Chamber of Commerce’s throughout the state participate in.

Arkansas Scholars is a program that recognizes students with outstanding achievement in academics and attendance in 9th-12th grades. The program is presented to all 9th grade students at Russellville Junior High by area business leaders that serve on the Russellville Area Chamber of Commerce Education Committee. Criteria for Arkansas Scholars includes: maintaining a 95 % attendance rate and a C average or above in ninth through twelfth grades, completing their high school career in eight consecutive semesters, and taking the core curriculum to graduate. The Russellville Area Chamber of Commerce encourages local businesses to let the Arkansas Scholar distinction be the deciding factor in employment when all other credentials and qualifications are equal.

Business Partners for the banquet were: Centennial Bank, Textbook Brokers, Mr. and Mrs. Paul Harvel, Vista Place Apartments, Rose Drug Store, Arkansas Tech University, City Corporation, Lifetouch, Sorrells Body Shop, Mahle Engine Components, Arkansas River Valley Heating & Air, Edward Jones- Calvin Henderson, Walmart, Little John Transportation, The Courier, Arkansas Occupational Health, Shoptaw Labahn, and Tyson- Dardanelle. The keynote speaker was Mr. Joe Wilson, Operations Manager at ConAgra Brands.

The 2017 Arkansas Scholars Recipients are:

Bailey, Selby Lee
Barker, Joel Allen
Bell, David Anthony
Campbell, Matthew Robert
Campbell, Michael Devoe
Cawyer, Renee Marie
Chiolino, Paul Deangelio
Cloud, Daniel Benjamin
Cochran, Hannah Celesta
Collins, Brant David, II
Collins, Jeremy Alexander
Cotton, Makayla Elizabeth
Daniels, Deja Kierria
Davis, Collin Wade
Duran, William Michael
Duvall, Aaron Martin
Duvall, Summer Raine
Duvall, Tyler Scott
Escobedo, Elizabeth Ann
Garcia, Hillary Daniell's
Geurian, Presley Drake
Gove, Dashawn Ray
Gray, Ariston Claire
Hale, Maebre Lee
Harpenau, Ryan Joseph
Harrison, Katelyn Renee
Higgs, Shannon Rebecca
Hughes, Jonathan Dale
Jayroe, Mikayla Bethany
Johnson, Maliya Grace
Jones, Kaley Nicole
Keating, Courtney Marie
Kelley, Riley Taylor Aaron
Kennamore, Charleigh Marie
Kilgore, Taylor Mackenzie
Kirkland, Ella Kathlein
Kirkland, Kaitlyn Norellen
Kirtley, Lindsey Michele
Mateos, Ashley Dennis
Meador, Ryan Matthew
Meadows, Connor Allen
Means, Patricia Andrea
Montgomery, Julian Brooke
Mullen, William Michael
Neagles, Carson Bradley
Nguyen, Lyann Thi
Nufer, Bheyleigh Renee
Nupp, Sylvia Jean
Patel, Vatsal Alpeshkumar
Rickman, Hannah Grace
Rule, Madison Rhea
Schaubroeck, Christopher Patrick
Skartvedt, Megan Nicole
Smith, Logan Renae
Streety, Zachary Douglas Lane
Taylor, Zeb Andrew
Thessing, Carter Scott
Tracy, Tyler Grady
Van Houtte, Maxim David
Vogler, John William
Williams, Kalley Elizabeth
Williams, Marissa Alene
Young, Sydney Kay

For more information about this program and others, please contact the Russellville Area Chamber of Commerce at 479-968-2530 or visit

Our Sponsors